open mobile menu close mobile menu

Launch of the Second Round of the GSEF Webinar Series

Leading up to the GSEF2021 Mexico City forum, GSEF has begun organizing a series of webinars in collaboration with GSEF2021’s Local Organizing Committee. While the first round is still ongoing with the English session scheduled for June 9, GSEF is excited and grateful for the impactful contributions of participants and fruitful exchanges realized so far. 

With a shift in focus for the upcoming second round, the sessions will focus on the Recovery and Development of Decent Work through SSE. More specifically, what impacts has the COVID-19 crisis had on employment, in particular on decent jobs, the SSE sector activities, and the economic empowerment of marginalized groups? How can we take steps to ensure that the SSE leads the way toward decent work for all, as well as guarantee the ecological and sustainable transition of our economies? Turn to the details below for more information and join us for this compelling series of webinars. 
 

16 June 2020, Tuesday 

Title: Relance et création d'emplois décents à travers l'ESS
Language: French
Time: 9:00 am (Montreal time) / 1:00 pm (GMT) / 3:00 pm (Paris time) / 8:00 pm (Phnom Penh time) / 10:00 pm (Seoul time)
Speakers

  • Ms. Malika Ghefrane Giorgi, Special Advisor, Network of Local Elected Women of Africa (REFELA), United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) Africa
  • Mr. Dara Huot, Director, Phare Performing Social Enterprise, Cambodia
  • Mr. Patrick Klein, Social Economy Team Leader, DG for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission
  • Mr. Kevin Ossah, Directeur Exécutif, Organization for Youth Committed to Sustainable Development (OJEDD INTERNATIONAL), Togo
  • Mr. Gianluca Salvatori, Director, EURICSE
  • Ms. Fatmata Sesay, Regional Policy Advisor, UN Women Africa

Moderator: Ms. Laurence Kwark, Secretary General, GSEF


24 June 2020, Wednesday

Title: Recuperar y desarrollar trabajos dignos a través de la ESS
LanguageSpanish (español)
Time: 14:00 pm (GMT)   *09:00 Mexico time
 
Opening remarks

  • Mr. Juan Manuel Martínez Louvier, Director General Director, INAES (Instituto Nacional de la Economía Social de México)  
  • Ms. Laurence Kwark, Secretary General, GSEF 
  • Ms. Soledad Soledad Aragón, Secretary of Work and Job Promotion Division (STyFE), Mexico City Government

Speakers

  • Mr. David Pino, Director of Innovation and Social Economy, Seville City Government, Spain  
  • Ms. Susana Puerto González, Coordinator of the Global Initiative on Decent Work for Youth, ILO, Switzerland
  • Mr. Leandro Pereira Morais, Member of UN Inter-Agency Task Force on Social and Solidarity Economy in Brazil
  • Ms. María Eugenia Pérez Zea, Executive Director of the Colombian Association of Cooperatives ASCOOP, Colombia
  • Mr. Helmut Schwarzer, Director and Senior Specialist on Social Protection and Economic Development, ILO Mexico

Moderator: Ms. Judith Olmedo Azar, General Director of Social and Solidarity Economy, Work and Job Promotion Division (STyFE), Mexico City Government

Registration link
 

30 June 2020, Tuesday

Title: Recovery and Development of Decent Work through SSE
LanguageEnglish
Time: 17:00 - 18:30 (Korea Time)
Speakers

  • Mr. Jurgen Schwettmann, Independent consultant, former ILO official and COOP Chief
  • Mr. Gerry Higgins, Founder and Managing Director of Social Enterprise World Forum
  • Dr. Mirai Chatterjee, Director of the Social Security Team at Self-Employed Women’s Association, (SEWA)
  • Ms. Eunae Lee, Director of Seed:s, Former Director of Seoul Social Economy Center, South Korea
  • Ms. Poonsap Tulaphan, Director of the Foundation for Labour and Employment Promotion (FLEP) / HomeNet Thailand

Moderator: Ms. Laurence Kwark, Secretary General, GSEF

English-Korean simultaneous interpretation will be provided in this session

Registration link