open mobile menu close mobile menu

The English session of the 4th cycle of the webinar series, which is also the last session of a four-month long journey, focused on the evolving SSE ecosystem in the Post COVID-19 era, with a title of “ New SSE Ecosystems in the post-COVID19 Era”.
Escalating the existing urban issues such as healthcare, job market and local economy, the COVID-19 has changed our way of living and working. Social and Solidarity Economy Organizations and Enterprises (SSEOEs) need to adjust themselves to stay resilient in this unprecedented crisis. During the process, the SSE ecosystem is also evolving and contributing to transforming our economy into a sustainable and inclusive one in the post COVID-19 era.

In this "finale" of GSEF webinar series, speakers from SSE intermediary sectors, healthcare groups, and platform economy shared their experiences and insights on how SSEOEs have adopted innovative ways of collaborations and technologies such as online platform and mobile technology to maintain their service and to complement fights against COVID-19. Based on the experiences learnt, speakers shared also their ideas of the possible features of the evolving SSE ecosystem.
 


Date: 29th September 2020, Tuesday
Time: 08:00 (GMT)
- 09:00 in Wales, 10:00 in Spain- 11:00 Turkey
- 16:00 in Singapore/Hong Kong - 17:00 in Seoul/Tokyo
Duration: 90 minutes
Language: English
English-Korean simultaneous interpretation is provided in this session.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Speakers:

  • Dr. Carlos Zarco, Director-General of Espriu Foundation, Spain
  • Rebecca Choy Yung, Chair of Hong Kong Social Enterprise Summit
  • Derek Walker, CEO, the Wales Co-operative Centre
  • Dr. Ali Ercan Özgür Co-founder, "İhtiyaç Haritası" (Needs Map), Turkey
  • Chris Dobrzanski, Board Chair, Community Forward Fund, Canada
  • Yiungmi Choi, CEO, Korean Association of Domestic Workers, South Korea

Moderator:  Laurence Kwak, Secretary-General, Global Social Economy Forum

 


Social and Solidarity Economy in everything and for everyone: new ecosystems

Date: September 22, 2020 09:00 CDMX time
Language: Spanish 

Within the framework of the Webinars towards the GSEF 2021, it was planned to hold four virtual sessions to address the social, economic and political inclusion mechanisms developed from the SSE, and how these become more relevant in a post-COVID-19 recovery context.

To close this cycle of Webinars, and as an introductory event to the Virtual Forum in October, during this webinar speakers discussed the presence of the SSE on a day-to-day basis, the strategies required for its consolidation, and focus attention on its potential to achieve the SDGs and the 2030 Agenda; exchange experiences at the international level to strengthen ecosystems at the local and national levels; as well as making local experiences visible on the international scene to highlight their contribution.

Goals:

● Present how SSE is present in daily life and can come to structure a community or a society.
● Present and analyze public policies and strategies that have made it possible to create favorable environments for the development of the SSE and build strong ecosystems for the SSE.
● Make visible the experiences of innovative ecosystems of the SSE and their impact in Latin America.
● Highlight that the SSE contributes to the fulfillment of the SDGs and is key to achieving the 2030 Agenda.