open mobile menu close mobile menu

GSEF Webinar Series - 29th September: The evolving SSE ecosystem in the Post COVID-19 era

As a preparatory path for the GSEF Global Virtual Forum on 19th through 23rd October 2020 and GSEF2021, the GSEF Secretariat, in collaboration with the Local Organizing Committee of GSEF2021 (Mexico City), has been organizing a Webinar Series from May through September to illustrate the major impacts of COVID-19 on our societies, economies, and SSE fields in particular, and share the innovative actions undertaken by local governments and SSE stakeholders in the fight against COVID-19.

The upcoming English session of the 4th cycle of the webinar series, which is also the last session of a four-month long journey, will address the topic 'The Evolving SSE Ecosystems in the post-COVID-19 Era'. Escalating the existing urban issues such as healthcare, job market and local economy, the COVID-19 has changed our way of living and working. Social and Solidarity Economy Organizations and Enterprises (SSEOEs) need to adjust themselves to stay resilient in this unprecedented crisis. During the process, the SSE ecosystem is also evolving and contributing to transforming our economy into a sustainable and inclusive one in the post COVID-19 era.

In this "finale" of the GSEF Webinar Series, speakers from SSE intermediary sectors, healthcare groups, and platform economy organizations will share their experiences and insights on how SSEOEs have adopted innovative ways of collaborations and technologies such as online platform and mobile technology to maintain their service and to complement fights against COVID-19. Based on the experiences learnt, speakers will share their ideas of the possible features of the evolving SSE ecosystem.


- Date: 29th September 2020, Tuesday
- Time: 08:00 (GMT)
* 09:00 in Wales, 10:00 in Spain, 11:00 Turkey
* 16:00 in Singapore/Hong Kong 17:00 in Seoul/Tokyo
- Duration: 90 minutes
- Language: English
* English-Korean simultaneous interpretation will be provided in this session.

_________________________________________________________________________________________


Speakers:

  • Dr. Carlos Zarco, Director-General of Espriu Foundation, Spain
  • Rebecca Choy Yung, Chair of Hong Kong Social Enterprise Summit, Hong Kong
  • Derek Walker, CEO, the Wales Co-operative Centre, Wales
  • Dr. Ali Ercan Özgür Co-founder, "İhtiyaç Haritası" (Needs Map), Turkey
  • Chris Dobrzanski, Board Chair, Community Forward Fund, Canada
  • Choi, Young Mi, Representative, Korea Domestic Worker's Association, South Korea

Moderator: Laurence Kwark, Secretary General, Global Social Economy Forum

Register here